What do you think?

When people ask you what you do for a living, and you tell them that you sell perfume, they always seem to say “oh! I wear _____(fill in the blank yourself), what do you think of that?” Another thing people seem to say is “oh, you must smell like a tart’s handbag when you get home!” um, thanks? Or they stick their arm under your nose and demand to know what they smell of (I think that if I could remember every single one of these fragrances, I would be working for a Perfume company somewhere as an evaluator).

My Mum’s hairdresser is a good customer, she always smells fantastic regardless of what she wears. Except for one fragrance, which happens to be her favourite – DKNY Be Delicious. She asked me what I thought. I told her I don’t like it because it smells too watery and like melons (read: it smells like calone, the “freshmaker”!), and I dislike melon. She took it personally and got upset about it. Ever since, I’ve had to try to find a “nice” thing to say about pretty much every fragrance we sell. As the age old adage proclaims – if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.

“Coco Mademoiselle? Well it’s certainly popular!” in reality, it’s not to my tastes in the slightest. I want to say “If you are going to wear a Chanel, make it No19!”
“Is Katie Price Stunning a good perfume? Absolutely, if the your understanding of “perfume” is to make you smell of cheap lollywater!”

Leave a Reply

