Dior Homme Sport Review

Over the past week, I’ve been off work suffering from a chest infection. This has left me with plenty of free time, and as my sense of smell is in no way hampered by the infection (it’s not a cold!), I’ve taken the time to write a series of reviews of the Dior Homme family of fragrances. I’m starting with 2008’s Sport, the most recent release from the house.

As part of my job, I go on training courses ran by the companies that own the fragrance brands. I remember the day I first smelled Dior Homme Sport, because it was the same day I smelled Insolence EdP for the first time (which is an absolutely stunning Violet fragrance, jacked up on steroids and fizzy pop), and fell in love with it, as well as the new Guerlain Homme (which made me order a Mojito at the bar opposite the Cardiff hotel where the training took place afterwards, and resulted in a very drunk and loud train journey home). Before we sniffed the fragrance, the rep from LVMH gave us all a glass of Ginger Beer, with lots of fresh lemon in it. I didn’t like the ginger beer very much. It stopped me being able to smell the fragrance properly, too.

diorhommesportDior Homme Sport is bright. Very bright. This is due to a large dose of citrus, mostly Lemon, but backed up with Bergamot and Grapefruit – it must intend to be White Grapefruit, because it’s almost bitter. As I press my nose to my arm again, I can almost see Lemon rind on the counter top, it’s been grated to go into the topping of a cheesecake that my friend baked – it was the best cheesecake I ever ate. The citrus is also slightly soapy, and fresh from the shower.

But the extremely bright Lemon is not alone here, which is how it feels in Allure Homme Sport Cologne. It’s brought a friend, a very brash and loud Ginger. Ginger brings a great spicy asset to the fragrance. Most of the Sport fragrances on the market are citrus and shower fresh, but there isn’t much else to them. Ginger is the reason Dior Homme Sport is different, and in my opinion, better, than those others.

A light Aromatic accord plays in the background, almost as if it were the harmony in a song to Lemon and Ginger’s leading role. Also, there is something fizzy in here. Fizzy seems to be the word I use to describe Cedar lately – it is the same fizzy sensation I get from Armani Diamonds, and Comme des Garcons H&M. The drydown is a soft, dry woody fragrance, with a slightly salted vetiver note.

Top: Citron, Bergamot, Grapefruit
Middle: Ginger, Elemi, Lavender
Base: Cedar, Vetiver, Sandalwood

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

